Monday, June 7, 2010

Life in Defiance by Mary E. DeMuth

Life in Defiance by Mary E. DeMuth is the final installment in her Defiance Texas Trilogy. I haven't read the first two in this series and was, unfortunately, quite lost while reading this one. It doesn't do well as a stand-alone. I couldn't connect with the characters and therefore didn't really care what happened to them. I suppose if I'd read the first two I might feel differently.

About the book:
In a town she personifies, Ouisie Pepper wrestles with her own defiance. Desperate to become the wife and mother her husband Hap demands, Ouisie pours over a simple book about womanhood, constantly falling short, but determined to improve.Through all that self-improvement, Ouisie carries a terrible secret: she knows who killed Daisy Chance. As her children inch closer to uncovering the killer's identity and Hap's rages roar louder and become increasingly violent, Ouisie has to make a decision. Will she protect her children by telling her secret? Or will Hap's violence silence them all?

This book was provided for review by Social Media Tours and Zondervan.

1 comment:

Mary DeMuth said...

Yeah, you need to read the first two! So sorry you had a bad experience with the book, but I appreciate you taking the time to read it.