Monday, April 18, 2011

The Lightkeeper's Ball by Colleen Coble

Just when you think an author can't outdo herself someone like Colleen Coble breaks free from the mold that she's made a name for herself in and writes a series like The Mercy Falls series. The Lightkeeper's Ball is the third and final installment in this series that takes place in 1910 in Mercy Falls, California. If the cover alone doesn't woo you in then the story and setting will.

Coble is a master storyteller who is able to weave a tale of suspense and romance with a Christian theme like no other. Olivia Steward is among the ultra rich in New York society. With friends like the Astor family, she is being bred to marry into money to keep up her social standing. Her older sister, Eleanor is the first to be betrothed in an arranged marriage to Harrison Bennett, but when word arrives from California that Eleanor has died Olivia is sent to replace her. While making the trip Olivia decides to use her long-forgotten English title of Lady Devonworth and do some sleuthing on her own to see what really happened to her sister Eleanor. When Olivia meets Harrison she decides to continue the charade and get to know this man and see if he was behind her sisters demise.

With twists and turns, this book will keep you guessing until the end. Coble also brings back several characters from the first two volumes and it's fun to be reunited with them.

If you want to take a trip back in time, then you need to read the Mercy Falls series.

Thanks to the B&B Media Group for this review copy.

Thanks, Colleen, for this clean read!

No comments: